vrijdag 1 juli 2016


Ooh - this just happened: I will be nominated for the 2018 Hans Christian Andersen Award. This (quote) is 'the highest international recognition given to an author and an illustrator of children's books. Every other year IBBY presents the Andersen Award to a living author and illustrator whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children's literature. The Author's Award has been given since 1956 and the Illustrator's Award since 1966. The Award consists of a gold medal and a diploma, presented at a festive ceremony during the biennial IBBY Congress.'

Each year almost 30 authors and 30 illustrators are nominated. The last years saw Dutch author Ted van Lieshout and Marit Törnqvist shortlisted!.
For 2018 the Dutch IBBY (International Board on Books for Young people) also chose fantastic illustrator Thé Tjong-Khing as a nominee.
I'm very thankful for this nomination, and honoured. It's a delight! Thanks to the Dutch IBBY-section, and to my wonderful publishing houses Querido and De Eenhoorn.